top of page
  • Writer's picturesoonha fdil

SL Announces Squad for ICC Men's U19 World Cup 2024 | Reddy Anna Book

Reddy Anna Book | SL Announces Squad for ICC Men's U19 World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka has unveiled its squad for the upcoming ICC Men's U19 World Cup, set to take place in South Africa from January 19. Sineth Jayawardena will lead the team, with Pulindu Perera, Hirun Kapurubandara, Ravishan Nethsara, Rusanda Gamage, Sharujan Shanmuganathan, Dinura Kalupahana, Malsha Tharupathi as vice-captain, Vishwa Lahiru, Garuka Sanketh, Duvindu Ranatunga, Ruvishan Perera, Supun Waduge, Vihas Thewmika, and Vishen Halambage completing the squad. The traveling reserves include Dinuka Tennakoon and Hiran Jayasundara.

Bangladesh Confirms Squad for U19 World Cup | Reddy Anna Book

Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced a 15-member squad for the ICC U19 World Cup, maintaining faith in the lineup that secured the maiden U19 Asia Cup title in December 2023. Mahfuzur Rahman Rabby will captain the team, while Ahrar Amin will serve as the deputy captain. Bangladesh, placed in Group A with India, Ireland, and the USA, aims to progress to the quarterfinals. The tournament is scheduled to begin on January 19 in South Africa.

India U19 Team Leadership Update

Uday Saharan has been named the captain of the Indian U19 cricket team for the upcoming World Cup. The middle-order batter from Punjab previously led the team in the U19 Asia Cup held in Dubai. The squad includes Arshin Kulkarni, Adarsh Singh, Rudra Mayur Patel, Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, Musheer Khan, Aravelly Avanish Rao (WK), Saumy Kumar Pandey (VC), Murugan Abhishek, Innesh Mahajan (WK), Dhanush Gowda, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani, and Naman Tiwari.

Change in Venue for U19 World Cup

In a notable development, the ICC decided to relocate the U19 World Cup from Sri Lanka to South Africa due to the suspension of the Sri Lanka Cricket board. The suspension resulted from government interference, as cited by the ICC. Despite considering alternative venues like Oman and the UAE, South Africa was finalized as the host country. While the Sri Lanka Cricket board remains suspended, the ICC has granted permission for the Sri Lanka U19 team to participate in the tournament.

7 views0 comments


bottom of page